adjusting solid lifters

• I'm not a mechanic, so bear with me. I figure it's time to have my solid lifters adjusted on my '65 clone. I have no idea what the cam specs are as I don't have a cam sheet. The car has a solid lifter cam and has a much more aggressive cam than my stock K code.

What's the proper method for adjusting the lifters on this car? Can he do it without spilling oil all over the engine? How long does this typically take? My mechanic charges $100/hour so I need to figure out how to help him be efficient at this job (:

• If you want to have your mechanic call me, I can lead him through the best way to adjust them without any oil mess. At $100 per hour he should already know how to do this. It will take less than 20 minutes to adjust them if done my way.

-Fred-

65 Koupe early San Jose Phoenician Yellow 4 speed
    66 GT Koupe Dearborn Blue 4 speed
    66 KGT San Jose fastback pony interior Silver Frost 4 speed
    64 Falcon sedan delivery 289 4 speed
    65 Ranchero 289 4 speed
    66 Corvette roadster 427/425 4 speed

• If you have not addressed the oil/zddp issue, I would urge you to do so, the higher the pressures on the valve/cam assembly, the more urgent is your need for this protection. Very high lift, high spring/seat pressures will be a candidate for failure without this stuff. Also, for those interested, ZDDP has a limited life, as the molecules break down while doing their job, and needs to be replenished as an additive.The latest from ZDDPlus is that it may leave the phosphous and zinc in the oil, but the moecules themselves have broken down. 3000 miles seems to be a must change, even with the added ZDDP. The oil industry tests their oil with very low output engines with a fraction of the pressures experienced by high performance, flat tappet setups. Thats how they can claim they have no prblems. They rig the tests to ensure passage. Comments?

Duncan

• Hey Fred,