• Greetings, I am a newbie to the forum and have a question about the axle tag on a car that I have agreed to purchase tomorrow. I had the car inspected and the inspection went well. I have a friend who has owned several k codes and I let him look at the pics that the inspector sent to me. He has found a discrepancy with the tag codes according to his book. He says the tag code indicates a 3.89 ratio but also actually says 3.50 ratio which is indicated on the door tag with a 5. He says it is probably correct but I would need to check here on this forum as you guys are the experts. Thanks -Eric
    [hr]
    I added a pic of the tag but don't see it attached. I will have to figure out what is going on

Edited once, last by recips (November 3, 2019 at 4:34 PM).

• Quote from recips

Greetings, I am a newbie to the forum and have a question about the axle tag on a car that I have agreed to purchase tomorrow. I had the car inspected and the inspection went well. I have a friend who has owned several k codes and I let him look at the pics that the inspector sent to me. He has found a discrepancy with the tag codes according to his book. He says the tag code indicates a 3.89 ratio but also actually says 3.50 ratio which is indicated on the door tag with a 5. He says it is probably correct but I would need to check here on this forum as you guys are the experts. Thanks -Eric
    [hr]
    I added a pic of the tag but don't see it attached. I will have to figure out what is going on

Is the tag code a WCZ-H? I have seen discrepancies with this tag in the past. I would need to look at the tag on one of my Kars to check this out as I have a 3.89 rear end in one of them.

-Fred-

65 Koupe early San Jose Phoenician Yellow 4 speed
    66 GT Koupe Dearborn Blue 4 speed
    66 KGT San Jose fastback pony interior Silver Frost 4 speed
    64 Falcon sedan delivery 289 4 speed
    65 Ranchero 289 4 speed
    66 Corvette roadster 427/425 4 speed

• Quote from recips